Leadership Speaker: Roderic Pettigrew, Ph.D., M.D.

Date(s) - 11/04/2020
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Virtual via Zoom

Roderic Pettigrew, Ph.D., M.D., Chief Executive Officer of Engineering Health, Executive Dean for Engineering Medicine, Texas A&M University

Zoom Link

Roderic Pettigrew, Ph.D., M.D.
Chief Executive Officer of Engineering Health
Executive Dean for Engineering Medicine
Texas A&M University

Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD, serves as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Engineering Health (EnHealth) and executive dean for the Engineering Medicine (EnMed) program at Texas A&M University, in partnership with Houston Methodist Hospital. Dr. Pettigrew also holds the endowed Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry. EnHealth is the nation’s first comprehensive educational program to fully integrate engineering into all health-related disciplines. EnMed is the nation’s first four-year, fully-integrated engineering and medical education curriculum leading to both a MD and master’s degree in engineering.

An internationally recognized leader in biomedical imaging and bioengineering, Dr. Pettigrew served as the first director for the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) at National Institutes of Health (NIH). Prior to his appointment at the NIH, he joined Emory University School of Medicine as a professor of radiology and Georgia Institute of Technology as a professor of bioengineering. Dr. Pettigrew is well-known for pioneering four-dimensional imaging of the cardiovascular system using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). In addition to his numerous achievements, he is an elected member to both the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineering.

After receiving his Bachelor of Science degree in physics from Morehouse College as a Merrill Scholar, Dr. Pettigrew attended Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, where he earned his Master of Science degree in nuclear science and engineering. Dr. Pettigrew received his PhD in radiation physics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and attained his medical doctorate from Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine at the University of Miami.