More than 45 faculty, staff and researchers contribute to the advancement of biomedical engineering at the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering. The close-knit community of faculty, students and staff creates a unique environment in which world-class research and education flourish.

All of the BME faculty are highly collaborative with other departments in the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering (e.g., Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering) and across other Colleges at UF (e.g., Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health).

Department Leadership

Kyle D. Allen

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for UG Studies, ABET Coordinator

Daniel Ferris

Robert W. Adenbaum Professor & Senior Associate Chair

Benjamin Keselowsky

Professor & Associate Chair for Graduate Studies

Christine Schmidt

Professor, J. Crayton Pruitt Family Chair & Department Chair


Other Administrative Appointments

Aysegul Gunduz

Associate Professor, J. Crayton Pruitt Family Term Fellow & Diversity Officer

Peter McFetridge

Associate Professor, Integra LifeSciences Term Professor & Graduate Coordinator

Sarah Rowlinson

Lecturer & Undergraduate Coordinator